Interpol announce new album and share single ‘Toni’


The Other Side of Make-Believe

Interpol have announced details of their new album titled ‘The Other Side of Make-Believe and share new single ‘Toni’.

The Other Side of Make Believe’ will be released on 15th July. Pre-Order here:

‘Toni’ is the first new music from Interpol since their 2019 EP ‘A Fine Mess’, the EP followed on from 2018’s album ‘Marauder’.

Described as being “Imbued with pastoral longing and newfound grace”, ‘The Other Side of Make-Believe’ started out with the band writing and recording remotely due to COVID during 2020 – before meeting up to flesh out the new songs at a  rented home in the Catskills, before completing the songs in North London with co-producers Flood and Alan Moulder.

Working alone was raw at first, but has opened up a vivid new chapter for us,” said guitarist Daniel Kessler in a press release, with Bank recalling how he took to writing while the global pandemic saw him living in Edinburgh for nearly nine months.

We usually write live, but for the first time I’m not shouting over a drumkit,” said Banks.

Daniel and I have a strong enough chemistry that I could picture how my voice would complement the scratch demos he emailed over. Then I could turn the guys down on my laptop, locate these colourful melodies and generally get the message across in an understated fashion.

He added: “It’s like Mickey Rourke in Barfly, singing to a patron at the end of the tabletop, and we never felt the need to flip that smoky intimacy into something big and loud when it came to rehearse and record. I got a real kick out of doing the opposite.

The Other Side of Make-Believe tracklist

1.  ‘Toni’
2.  ‘Fables’
3.  ‘Into The Night’
4.  ‘Mr Credit’
5.  ‘Something Changed’
6.  ‘Renegade Hearts’
7.  ‘Passenger’
8.  ‘Greenwich’
9.  ‘Gran Hotel’
10. ‘Big Shot City’
11. ‘Go Easy (Palermo)’

I don’t charge any publishing fees.

If you would like to buy us a pint, then kindly donate using the link.  

Thank You.


%d bloggers like this: