Bloc Party return with huge new single ‘Traps’ with album and tour announcement


Alpha Games

Bloc Party have returned with a new single which sounds like they have stepped back in time to their former selves. ‘Traps’ is the first taster of new album ‘Alpha Games’ which is set to be released 29th April.

Pre-Order ‘Alpha Games’ here:

At just under 3 minutes and with an abrupt ending, ‘Traps’ is a teasing tune that leaves you wanting more. Possible their heaviest track to date with the verses pounding along in a Juicebox-Strokes like way. The track sees Bloc Party return to their post-punk roots with ‘Traps’ sounding like it could have been lifted from ‘Silent Alarm’.

frontman Kele Okereke explained why they chose to lead with it,

From the moment we wrote ‘Traps’, we knew it had to be the first thing people heard from this album; playing it in soundchecks on our last tour before it was finished and hearing how it sounded in those big rooms and outdoors.

Bloc Party will also head out on tour with ‘Alpha Games’.


10 – La Salle Pleyel, Paris, France
11 – L’Aéronef, Lille, France
12 – Cirque Royal, Brussels, Belgium
14 – Store Vega, Copenhagen, Denmark
15 – Tempodrom, Berlin, Germany
16 – E-Werk, Cologne, Germany
17 – TivoliVredenburg Ronda, Utrecht, Netherlands
26 – O2 Academy 1, Birmingham, UK
27 – Rock City, Nottingham, UK
28 – Alexandra Palace, London, UK
30 – O2 Academy, Bristol, UK
31 – O2 Victoria Warehouse, Manchester, UK


02 – O2 City Hall, Newcastle, UK
03 – The Barrowland Ballroom, Glasgow, UK
04 – O2 Academy, Leeds, UK

I don’t charge any publishing fees.

If you would like to buy us a pint, then kindly donate using the link.  

Thank You.


%d bloggers like this: