DMA’S Release ‘Beautiful Stranger’

~ MTV Unplugged ~

Cult Australian sensations DMA’S today release track ‘Beautiful Stranger’, taken from their ‘MTV Unplugged Live’ session.

DMA’S release ‘MTV Unplugged Live’ album on june 14th

Pre-Order here:

DMA’S’ latest album ‘For Now’ found the Sydney trio’s fanbase swell with a rush of new devotees. It earned three ARIA Music Award nominations for Best Group, Best Rock Album and Best Independent Release, while their growing status saw it reach #13 in the UK- their highest chart position here to date.

Now the band are set to release the ‘MTV Unplugged Live’ album on June 14th. It was recorded at Melbourne’s intimate Memo Music Hall last October, with DMA’S becoming one of the first Australian bands to play the iconic MTV Unplugged session. It’s a format steeped in history following classic sets from NirvanaOasisR.E.M. and many more.

 Johnny Took says,

It was the most fun I’ve had in awhile, just rearranging the songs and hearing them in a different light. 

To be able to do this is a bit of a dream come true.

Renowned for their ragged, anthemic energy often inspired by the Britpop and Manchester scenes, ‘MTV Unplugged Live’ finds DMA’S stripping their songbook back to basics. Focusing on acoustic guitar, piano, violin and cello, these new arrangements unveil fresh new perspectives on the songs. Some now carry a folk vibe, while others hone in on the poignancy of the band’s lyrics.

The set makes an immediate statement with ‘Feels Like 37’, which substitutes its rush of spiky melody with a more reflective atmosphere. Numerous fan favourites such as ‘Step Up The Morphine’, ‘In The Air’ and ‘Lay Down’ resonate in their new form, while the album also features their previously unreleased, violin-driven take on the Madonna classic ‘Beautiful Stranger’

Having previously played shows in the UK with Liam Gallagher and The KooksDMA’Sreturn throughout the summer to play a number of key festivals.


14th – Isle of Wight Festival (main stage)

15th – Manchester, Heaton Park (with Courteeners)

16th – Dublin, Malahide Castle (with Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds)

17th – Belfast, Limelight 1 (headliners)


13th – TRNSMT Festival

14th – Citadel Festival (main stage)


The ‘MTV Unplugged Live’ tracklisting is:

1.    ‘Feels Like 37’

2.    ‘Lay Down’

3.    ‘Time & Money’

4.    ‘Emily Whyte’

5.    ‘In The Air’

6.    ‘Warsaw’

7.    ‘Beautiful Stranger’

8.    ‘The End’

9.    ‘Lazy Love’

10.  ‘In The Moment’

11.  ‘Health’

12.  ‘Step Up The Morphine

13.  ‘Delete’

14.  ‘Do I Need You Now?’

%d bloggers like this: