The Streets share official video for Idles Collaboration ‘None Of Us Are Getting Out Of This Life Alive’

None Of Us Are Getting Out Of This Life Alive

Today, Mike Skinner as The Streets has shared the official video for his mixtape title track ‘None Of Us Are Getting Out Of This Life Alive’ featuring Idles. Directed by Rollo Jackson, the video features both Mike and Idles frontman Joe Talbot


The critically acclaimed mixtape, out now on Island Records, charted at Number 2 in the UK Official Album Charts and features the singles ‘Call My Phone Thinking I’m Doing Nothing Better (ft. Tame Impala)’, ‘I Wish You Loved You As Much As You Love Him (ft. Donae’O & Greentea Peng)’ and ‘Falling Down (ft. Hak Baker)’.
This Thursday 6th August, The Streets will be playing an exclusive club performance, to be livestreamed to the world from EartH Hackney. A pay-per-view livestream event, this is likely to be the only time you will ever be able to watch Mike Skinner and his band perform in a club setting this small, and is the first time they’ve played a venue of this size since the summer of 2006.
Tickets are on sale via this link. Album and merchandise bundles are also available, as well as an optional charity donation option to Mike’s chosen charity  Show Racism the Red Card. Tickets are available in Euros, USD, AUD, all via Ticketmaster. The show will be streamed globally from 9pm GMT.
The original plan had been to release a TONGA album (the balloon filled rap, grime and dubstep party by Mike and Murkage Dave, which had been a series of shows to remember). Copenhagen to Manchester to Berlin. Brum to Brixton. Usually arriving with a coterie of legendary UK figureheads and gobby upcomers in tow, like Kano,Giggs, Jammer or Jaykae, the pulsating essence of the nights needed to be immortalised.
But as night moved to day, and day moved along to night, it… just didn’t happen. Instead, a new mixtape ‘None Of Us Are Getting Out Of This Life Alive’ steps up to take its place. Recorded between work on the accompanying film to The Streets new album, it is the unpredictable sonic continuation of those parties.
Taking in UK Funky and twilight zone UK rap, and with guest spots ranging from Grammy nominated psychedelia sovereign Tame Impala to cult south London rapper Jesse James Solomon, as well as 2019’s key-fiend-friendly drum’n’bass collab with Chris Lorenzo, ‘None Of Us Are Getting Out Of This Life Alive’ is the most eclectic and highly collaborative collection of songs from The Streets yet. Or as Mike puts it with characteristic distinction: “it’s really just a rap duets album.“
The inclusion of, say, Mercury Prize nominated punk group IDLES (who perform what Mike describes as a sea-shanty tinged track inspired by an overnight ferry to Dover) and teenage wünderkind Jimothy Lacoste help ground things firmly in the here and now. But there are familiar faces of the past too. Birmingham legend, Dapz On The Map, pops up on merky rap track ‘Phone Is Always In My Hand’. While Rob Harvey, previously of The Music and Skinner collaboration The D.O.T, tunes into pensieve penultimate track ‘Conspiracy Theory Freestyle’. Full track listing and featured artists detailed below:
1. Call My Phone Thinking I’m Doing Nothing Better (ft. Tame Impala)
2. None Of Us Are Getting Out Of This Life Alive (ft. IDLES)
3. I Wish You Loved You As Much As You Love Him (ft. Donae’o and Greentea Peng)
4. You Can’t Afford Me (ft. Ms Banks)
I Know Something You Did (ft. Jesse James Solomon)
6. Eskimo Ice (ft. Kasien)
7. Phone Is Always In My Hand (ft. Dapz on the Map)
8. The Poison I Take Hoping You Will Suffer (ft. Oscar #Worldpeace)
9. Same Direction (ft. Jimothy Lacoste)
10. Falling Down (ft. Hak Baker)
11. Conspiracy Theory Freestyle (ft. Rob Harvey)
12. Take Me As I Am (with Chris Lorenzo)

%d bloggers like this: